Thursday, April 23, 2009

Book News

74th Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards Winners Announced
Works Address Issues of Race and Culture, Opening and Challenging Minds

The Cleveland Foundation today announced the winners of the 2009 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards. They are:
-- Louise Erdrich, "The Plague of Doves" (Harper Collins)
-- Nam Le, "The Boat" (Knopf)
-- Annette Gordon-Reed, "The Hemingses of Monticello" (W.W. Norton)
-- Paule Marshall - Lifetime Achievement Award
"These 2009 Anisfield-Wolf winners are notable for the thoughtful way each author addresses the provocative and complex issues of race and cultural diversity. Each work is distinct, yet collectively they share an unyielding faith in the essential humanity of their subjects," said Henry Louis Gates Jr., the Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and Director of the W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African-American Research at Harvard University, who serves as jury chair. "The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards continue to be internationally recognized for shining a light on the many layers of ethnicity and identity in an increasingly cosmopolitan world." MORE